Motion2 Ultra 1080p

Everything about Picture2 - advanced post-processing engine
red_one
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2012 10:20 am
PC Specification: i3-3217U, Intel HD 4000, Windows 8

Motion2 Ultra 1080p

Sun Dec 02, 2012 11:39 am

Playing 1080p video with the following settings in SplashPro, the video plays smoothly. Average CPU load is 30-40%.

Best Quality (1080i -> 1080p): Enabled
Motion2: +10
Detail Boost: 8
Motion2 Ultra 1080p: Disabled

When I enable Motion2 Ultra 1080p, the video plays semi-smoothly. There are noticeable video stutters every few minutes. The CPU load remains the same, between 30-40%.

Question, what am I really missing when "Motion2 Ultra 1080p" is disabled? What is its purpose? Does it have a different function versus "Motion2" setting in "Playback Options"?

My notebook spec: Intel Core i3-3217U 1.8GHz (2 Cores/4 Threads), 4GB RAM, Intel HD 4000 Graphics, Windows 8. Connected to external Full HD (1080) LED monitor via HDMI port.

Thanks.

User avatar
vivan
Expert User
 
Posts: 193
Joined: Sat Dec 19, 2009 10:56 am
Location: St. Petersburg, Russia
PC Specification: Acer Aspire TimelineX 3830TG

Re: Motion2 Ultra 1080p

Sun Dec 02, 2012 5:12 pm

When Ultra is disabled and Motion² is enabled - than 1080p content is downscaled to 720p before all the processing.
Desktop (Intel i7-970, ATI 5870, Windows 7 x64)
Acer Aspire TimelineX 3830TG (Intel i5-2410M, nVidia GT540M, Windows 7 x64)
PS Vita, Nokia N8

red_one
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2012 10:20 am
PC Specification: i3-3217U, Intel HD 4000, Windows 8

Re: Motion2 Ultra 1080p

Mon Dec 03, 2012 12:17 am

Hi Vivian.

Does this mean that the 1080p video is downscaled to 720p for processing, and then upscaled back to 1080p for playback?

Or is it kept at 720p for playback?

User avatar
vivan
Expert User
 
Posts: 193
Joined: Sat Dec 19, 2009 10:56 am
Location: St. Petersburg, Russia
PC Specification: Acer Aspire TimelineX 3830TG

Re: Motion2 Ultra 1080p

Mon Dec 03, 2012 3:35 am

red_one wrote:and then upscaled back to 1080p for playback?
Yes. In the end it's scaled to the video window size - e.g. to 1080p if you're outputting 1080p.
So the chain for 1080p is:
non-Ultra: video file -> decoded video -> downscaling to 720p -> processing -> scaling to window.
Ultra: video file -> decoded video -> processing -> scaling to window.

Basically that means that if you have same videos with different resoultions (720p and 1080p), than with non-Ultra Motion² 1080p video would not look better than 720p one. That is the price for lowering CPU load (2 times less pixels to process -> less load). With Ultra turned on CPU load should be 1.5-2 times higher. So that's strange that in your case it remains the same...

Cpu load depends on content (e.g. static scene requires much less computation) and it can vary a lot. I'm having about 70-80% maximum CPU load when playing 1080p with Ultra turned on on i5-2410m (2 cores + HT, up to 2.9Ghz BUT Sandy Bridge, not Ivy Bridge). I think your CPU (that is slower by 30%, judging by the benchmarks) is not fast enough. Can you re-check if CPU load is near 100% at moments when video is shuttering?
Desktop (Intel i7-970, ATI 5870, Windows 7 x64)
Acer Aspire TimelineX 3830TG (Intel i5-2410M, nVidia GT540M, Windows 7 x64)
PS Vita, Nokia N8

picaadi
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2012 10:33 pm
PC Specification: intel quad core q8300

Re: Motion2 Ultra 1080p

Mon Dec 10, 2012 10:37 pm

does motion2 ultra work on a quad core q8300 2,5ghz .....I mean smoothly?

User avatar
radi
Mirillis Team
 
Posts: 3452
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 12:31 pm
PC Specification: i7-3610QM, 8GB RAM, GTX 660M

Re: Motion2 Ultra 1080p

Tue Dec 11, 2012 7:15 pm

picaadi wrote:does motion2 ultra work on a quad core q8300 2,5ghz .....I mean smoothly?

The best way to check this is to download the free trial ;)

picaadi
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2012 10:33 pm
PC Specification: intel quad core q8300

Re: Motion2 Ultra 1080p

Tue Dec 11, 2012 7:28 pm

PS: will there something to be done with those artefacts in motion 2?

User avatar
radi
Mirillis Team
 
Posts: 3452
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 12:31 pm
PC Specification: i7-3610QM, 8GB RAM, GTX 660M

Re: Motion2 Ultra 1080p

Wed Dec 12, 2012 1:13 pm

picaadi wrote:PS: will there something to be done with those artefacts in motion 2?

When do you experience these artefacts?

picaadi
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2012 10:33 pm
PC Specification: intel quad core q8300

Re: Motion2 Ultra 1080p

Wed Dec 12, 2012 9:35 pm

when I`m playing Motion 60p with or no ultra turn on :(

Return to Picture²

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest