vladax
PC Specification: Core2 E8650, nVidia GTX 275, Win 7 32b

24 Bugs and Enhancements

Thu Oct 28, 2010 2:47 am

Hi

I work as a software developer for one software company. Last few weeks I was trying to find the best media player. I think your Splash player has a great engine with great possibilities but it lacks some usability features and contains few bugs:

1) If you download a "the.big.bang.theory.s04e02.720p.hdtv.x264-ctu.mkv" file, you will find that the Motion2 feature ruins the quality of the movie in some cases. Look at the file bug1.zip to see an example from the 11th second of the movie:

This movie can be downloaded from oneddl.com.

2) Sometimes the Motion2 feature produces wrong deinterlacing. Please look at the file bug2.zip to see what I mean:

The video has been downloaded from this URL:
http://www.aktiv-verlag.com/~webvideos/ ... _P_50i.MTS

3) The feature to jump automatically to a nearest keyframe is mostly useful way to speed up time-jumps. But sometimes it is very uncomfortable. For example I prefer to jump using left and right arrow keys by a very small time interval - around 3 s. In case there is one keyframe every e.g. 10s, when I press the left arrow, the movie jumps always to the same keyframe even if I press the left arrow more times. To jump before the keyframe I have to press the left arrow very quickly. This makes me crazy. The best solution for time-jumps is to decide whether to jump to the nearest keyframe or to the exact frame by a simple rule in any case:
If there are more than e.g. 3 keyframes between my current position and the destination, then jump to the keyframe. Otherwise jump to the exact frame.

4) It would be nice to allow users to specify the exact time (in seconds) for time-jumps using arrow keys, Shift+arrow keys and Ctrl+arrow keys.

5) In case the movie is paused, it should not start playing when I press the left/right arrow or click to the timeline.