GamerGuy
Posts: 69
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2012 8:22 pm
PC Specification: Intel 3610, AMD 7970M, Win 8.1

Suggestion: option to disable splash screen

Tue Aug 06, 2013 9:51 pm

Kind of an annoying new delay from the splash screen.

User avatar
radi
Mirillis Team
Posts: 3508
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 12:31 pm
PC Specification: i7-3610QM, 8GB RAM, GTX 660M

Re: Suggestion: option to disable splash screen

Wed Aug 07, 2013 8:33 am

The splash screen takes the same starting time as normal Action! loading. Graphical splash screen does not affect loading speed.
Follow us on Twitter:
http://twitter.com/MirillisTeam
Find us on Facebook:
http://www.facebook.com/Mirillis

GamerGuy
Posts: 69
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2012 8:22 pm
PC Specification: Intel 3610, AMD 7970M, Win 8.1

Re: Suggestion: option to disable splash screen

Wed Aug 07, 2013 6:55 pm

On my SSD-equipped laptop, it definitely takes longer to start now due to the splash screen. I know because every time I start my machine, Windows pops up a little warning box about not being able to restore a network share, and that box gradually fades. With the old Action I was able to start it and begin recording the desktop before that warning box faded out, but now can't. So it's slower.

User avatar
radi
Mirillis Team
Posts: 3508
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 12:31 pm
PC Specification: i7-3610QM, 8GB RAM, GTX 660M

Re: Suggestion: option to disable splash screen

Thu Aug 08, 2013 9:01 am

GamerGuy wrote:On my SSD-equipped laptop, it definitely takes longer to start now due to the splash screen. I know because every time I start my machine, Windows pops up a little warning box about not being able to restore a network share, and that box gradually fades. With the old Action I was able to start it and begin recording the desktop before that warning box faded out, but now can't. So it's slower.
Even without the splash screen you wouldn't be able to start it faster. With latest functionality added Action! requires some more time to start. That's why we added starting screen so Action! users know that Action! is starting, without they may be like "What's happening? Why Action! is not starting... Oh, here it is".
Follow us on Twitter:
http://twitter.com/MirillisTeam
Find us on Facebook:
http://www.facebook.com/Mirillis

GamerGuy
Posts: 69
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2012 8:22 pm
PC Specification: Intel 3610, AMD 7970M, Win 8.1

Re: Suggestion: option to disable splash screen

Thu Aug 08, 2013 6:48 pm

Ok, well I would suggest to developer team to work on improving the new startup time. It takes longer to start than other, larger software like Firefox.

User avatar
radi
Mirillis Team
Posts: 3508
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 12:31 pm
PC Specification: i7-3610QM, 8GB RAM, GTX 660M

Re: Suggestion: option to disable splash screen

Fri Aug 09, 2013 6:57 am

GamerGuy wrote:Ok, well I would suggest to developer team to work on improving the new startup time. It takes longer to start than other, larger software like Firefox.
Action! need to load lots of data since many features added in past time. I don't know what quick means to you but mine app start time takes less than 3 seconds.
Follow us on Twitter:
http://twitter.com/MirillisTeam
Find us on Facebook:
http://www.facebook.com/Mirillis

User avatar
Montago
Posts: 119
Joined: Fri Mar 15, 2013 1:57 pm
PC Specification: Core i7 3770K, Asus 7970@1Ghz, 16GB DDR3

Re: Suggestion: option to disable splash screen

Sun Nov 08, 2015 8:55 pm

PLEASE DISABLE THE FREAKING SPLASH SCREEN.

some days it takes 20 seconds to start - even on my i7 3770K with 500MB/s SSD !!

User avatar
Montago
Posts: 119
Joined: Fri Mar 15, 2013 1:57 pm
PC Specification: Core i7 3770K, Asus 7970@1Ghz, 16GB DDR3

Re: Suggestion: option to disable splash screen

Sun May 21, 2017 7:37 am

AGAIN...

PLEASE add an option to DISABLE THE SPLASH SCREEN !!!

When i boot up my computer i'm forced to look at the Action Splash screen for 20 seconds, which makes my computer completely useless - since it blocks my desktop and overlays on Chrome and all other programs !!!

ARHGGHGHGH

Jamesber
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed May 17, 2017 9:33 am
PC Specification: windows 7
Location: Росиия
Contact: ICQ Yahoo Messenger

Suggestion option to disable splash screen

Thu Jun 01, 2017 5:25 am

I saw this as well... interesting option for its price. Let me know how it goes

nco2k
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Dec 02, 2016 3:22 am
PC Specification: Win7 64Bit

Re: Suggestion: option to disable splash screen

Thu Jun 01, 2017 8:53 am

please let us disable the insanly annoying splash screen. every other of my apps loads quietly on system start, but only action has to block half of my screen. sometimes it takes up to 30 seconds. during that time, i cant do anything else. i cant open my browser and check for emails, because the splash screen is blocking my view. i have to wait until action is loaded, before i can start using my computer. this is just insane. we are not asking you to get rid of the splash screen. we are asking for an optional setting to disable it. people who choose to do that, wont be like "What's happening? Why Action! is not starting... Oh, here it is". we know what we are doing and we want action to load quietly in the back, while we use our pc to work in the meantime. i got so annoyed that i simply removed action from my system start. now i often forget to launch it before i play a game and find myself using this software less and less. this is a perfect example of how something this small and simple, can ruin an otherwise good product.

Return to “Action! Screen and Game Recorder”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests