Arcansel
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Feb 22, 2021 5:04 pm
PC Specification: AMD 5900x, RTX 3080, Windows 10.

Elgato 4K60Pro is not being detected as "System Sounds"

Mon Feb 22, 2021 5:26 pm

Hello

My Elgato 4K60Pro sound option does not show in "Primary Device (System Sounds)", it doesnt reproduce any sound at all, i tried every system sounds option none of them work but when i go to 4K Capture Utility or OBS it works perfectly, but i would prefer if Action! worked too because it can record to 4K with webcam something that OBS and 4K Capture Utility dont do and also Action has ingame and microphone audio volumes to make it easier to tune the audio of the video, so is it possible to have this feature? Or is it something i should be doing?

Piotr
Posts: 1254
Joined: Mon Jan 02, 2017 11:20 am
PC Specification: i7-6700, 16GB RAM, GTX 1070

Re: Elgato 4K60Pro is not being detected as "System Sounds"

Fri Mar 05, 2021 7:13 am

We have this Elgato card and we have no problem recording sounds from it.

Please provide us your PC DxDiag report. It will help us investigate your problem.
To run a dxdiag report follow the steps below:

If you are running Windows Vista or higher go to your task bar.
Click on, "Start Button".
Click on, "Run".
In the pop-up window enter dxdiag and hit ok.
The DirectX Diagnostic Tool pop-up window should appear.
Click on, "Save all information tab".
"Save As" window should be present.
Click on, "Save" (The file should be saved to your desktop as dxdiag)
Close the DirectX Diagnostic Tool.

Attach generated txt file to your reply.
Follow us on Twitter:
http://twitter.com/MirillisTeam
Find us on Facebook:
http://www.facebook.com/Mirillis

Racket
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Mar 13, 2021 4:21 pm
PC Specification: i7 8700k, RTX 2080 Ti, Windows 10 v20H2

Re: Elgato 4K60Pro is not being detected as "System Sounds"

Sat Mar 13, 2021 4:42 pm

Piotr wrote:
Fri Mar 05, 2021 7:13 am
We have this Elgato card and we have no problem recording sounds from it.

Please provide us your PC DxDiag report. It will help us investigate your problem.
To run a dxdiag report follow the steps below:

If you are running Windows Vista or higher go to your task bar.
Click on, "Start Button".
Click on, "Run".
In the pop-up window enter dxdiag and hit ok.
The DirectX Diagnostic Tool pop-up window should appear.
Click on, "Save all information tab".
"Save As" window should be present.
Click on, "Save" (The file should be saved to your desktop as dxdiag)
Close the DirectX Diagnostic Tool.

Attach generated txt file to your reply.
I also have the issue of my 4K60 Pro MK2 not having any audio detected in Action. I basically have to play my audio through another software, like monitoring the audio in OBS, to have Action pick up the audio that way by recording desktop audio. If I'm not using any software to monitor the audio, nothing will come through in the video/stream at all.

I've tried installing various versions of Action all the way back to 4.10.5, with none of them making a difference to audio capture.

I've tried attaching my .txt report directly to this post, but it keeps saying the attachment has an invalid file extension. I'll add a url to the txt file, which hopefully will work fine.

https://1drv.ms/u/s!Ao2TIc9RKrE1hcBmMiI ... A?e=fraNLn

Thanks in advance for any help.

User avatar
Watchman
Mirillis Team
Posts: 141
Joined: Fri Dec 11, 2009 3:16 pm
PC Specification: Core i9-7940X, nVidia RTX2080 SLI, Win10

Re: Elgato 4K60Pro is not being detected as "System Sounds"

Mon Mar 15, 2021 5:24 pm

Hi guys, do you see the Elgato 4K60 Pro Mk.2 audio device on the Audio device list (Primary Audio Device)??? When we select it we capture audio only from the capture card. Also from the latest 4K Capture Utility version Elgato fixed the HDR capture problem so it now works both in SDR and HDR.

It works on our side with the latest Elagato drivers/software. It also worked for Google when we were working on HDR streaming to YouTube. Maybe something blocks the audio so it is not reaching Action? There is no magic in it since this is a standard audio device. It must work...

Hope we can help!

Racket
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Mar 13, 2021 4:21 pm
PC Specification: i7 8700k, RTX 2080 Ti, Windows 10 v20H2

Re: Elgato 4K60Pro is not being detected as "System Sounds"

Mon Mar 15, 2021 5:36 pm

Watchman wrote:
Mon Mar 15, 2021 5:24 pm
Hi guys, do you see the Elgato 4K60 Pro Mk.2 audio device on the Audio device list (Primary Audio Device)??? When we select it we capture audio only from the capture card. Also from the latest 4K Capture Utility version Elgato fixed the HDR capture problem so it now works both in SDR and HDR.

It works on our side with the latest Elagato drivers/software. It also worked for Google when we were working on HDR streaming to YouTube. Maybe something blocks the audio so it is not reaching Action? There is no magic in it since this is a standard audio device. It must work...

Hope we can help!
Hi Watchman,

Can confirm it is not showing under the audio device list in the Action software. I'll have a mess around with a few things to see if I can find anything potentially blocking things on my side. Will add another reply if I can find something.

User avatar
Watchman
Mirillis Team
Posts: 141
Joined: Fri Dec 11, 2009 3:16 pm
PC Specification: Core i9-7940X, nVidia RTX2080 SLI, Win10

Re: Elgato 4K60Pro is not being detected as "System Sounds"

Mon Mar 15, 2021 5:51 pm

Just double check on a machine with Elagato installed.

I can see:
1 - 4K60 Pro MK.2 (AMD High Definition Audio Device)

Can you check if this device is visible on Windows Audio devices list (Settings->Audio)

User avatar
Watchman
Mirillis Team
Posts: 141
Joined: Fri Dec 11, 2009 3:16 pm
PC Specification: Core i9-7940X, nVidia RTX2080 SLI, Win10

Re: Elgato 4K60Pro is not being detected as "System Sounds"

Mon Mar 15, 2021 6:03 pm

It does not work for Playstation. I cannot see the device on the list. We will check this asap.

EDIT: There is "Game Capture 4K60 Pro MK.2 Audio" audio capture device in the system but it's not visible on the audio device list. We will try to fix this asap.

User avatar
Watchman
Mirillis Team
Posts: 141
Joined: Fri Dec 11, 2009 3:16 pm
PC Specification: Core i9-7940X, nVidia RTX2080 SLI, Win10

Re: Elgato 4K60Pro is not being detected as "System Sounds"

Mon Mar 15, 2021 6:50 pm

Fix should be ready tomorrow in 4.16.1 (which was supposed to be released today).
The problem is that there was no name filter for "4K60 Pro MK.2" as source of PCM audio that comes together with video (there is HD 60S device though... and it works).

User avatar
Watchman
Mirillis Team
Posts: 141
Joined: Fri Dec 11, 2009 3:16 pm
PC Specification: Core i9-7940X, nVidia RTX2080 SLI, Win10

Re: Elgato 4K60Pro is not being detected as "System Sounds"

Tue Mar 16, 2021 5:26 pm

UPDATE: Strange thing we have noticed. Elgato HD 60S device (an older device) creates an audio capture device that is visible in the system. 4K60 Pro MK.2 does not. It only creates a filter that is a Kernel Streaming Proxy. No idea why they did it this way because audio is not easily accessible by all applications.

User avatar
Watchman
Mirillis Team
Posts: 141
Joined: Fri Dec 11, 2009 3:16 pm
PC Specification: Core i9-7940X, nVidia RTX2080 SLI, Win10

Re: Elgato 4K60Pro is not being detected as "System Sounds"

Tue Mar 16, 2021 6:11 pm

FINAL SOLUTION:

Missing audio devices will be added as "virtual audio devices" on the list of System Sound devices:

HW AUDIO OUTPUTS (first)
1. Realtek Digital Output
2. Another device...

VIRTUAL AUDIO SOURCE:
3. Game Capture 4K60 Pro MK.2 Audio
4. Another virtual device...

And rest of the list will include our new feature - capturing audio from selected applications/games:
5. Discord audio
6. CS:GO
7. Another active application...

Return to “Action! Screen and Game Recorder”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests